Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab has announced sanctions against 11 politicians, officials and other people accused of gross human rights violations in Russia, Venezuela, The Gambia and Pakistan.

The UK is imposing travel bans and asset freezes against three individuals in Russia accused of torture and other human rights violations against LGBTQ people in Chechnya.

In Venezuela, sanctions are being imposed on senior security figures responsible for human rights violations in Nicolas Maduro’s ‘illegitimate regime’, the Foreign Office said. Mr Raab said: ‘Today’s sanctions send a clear message to human rights violators that the UK will hold them to account.

‘The UK and our allies are shining a light on the severe and systematic human rights violations perpetrated by those sanctioned today. Global Britain will stand up for democracy, human rights and the rule of law as a force for good in the world.’